Why are some black Afrikanz considered white Amerikanz?

This is great. Thanks for sharing it with us.

Moorbey'z Blog

Sudanese Americans do not fit neatly into the existing racial classifications of the American society.

I always knew I was black. My childhood was the scent of coconut oil hair cream and the taste of bean pie after Friday prayers in a Bilalian mosque on Chicago’s south side. I knew the words to Nkosi Sikelel’ iAfrika and called Harold Washington my mayor, even though I lived in the suburbs.

My parents had immigrated to the United States from Sudan in the late 1970s and raised my sister and me to be comfortable in our skin. I spoke Arabic at home and English at school where it seemed no one else agreed that I am black.

Outside of the box

 When my father registered me for kindergarten, the school administrator told him that we had to select a box to designate our race.

My father – raised in a post-colonial Sudan…

View original post 913 more words

Leave a Reply

