Seeing Things in the Creek; Commentary by Bud the Cat

Catwoods Porch Party

Once you see this a certain way ... Once I see this a certain way …

The un-retouched photos from a walk on the creek reveal how we might “see things” there. This shadow always looks humanoid, and comes festooned with riffles, dazzles and leaves. Who all’s out there? Who or what?

The longer view The longer view

Casual personification along the creek. Oops. That’s what the brain does, seeing patterns in clouds or water, especially human faces and forms. I come by it naturally, as they say.

Beguiling Beguiling

And I’m not done with last fall either, we’re looking back to November here. Every angle, every instant, means another switcheroo. What’s in that water, anyway?

Most pictures just tell of the stream, the rocky stream bed, the sky, the light, the forest. We’re cool that way, too:

Currents weaving leaves Currents weaving, using leaves

I think I know where this was I think I know where this was

Rapids in repose Rapids in repose

Step back:

Going somewhere? Going somewhere?

“They’re out there,” says Bud my…

View original post 436 more words

Leave a Reply

