Frida Kahlo

Let Our Voices Echo

Lady2Soothe
Fullscreen capture 9162015 25817 PM.bmp

In celebration of National Hispanic Heritage Month which began Sept. 15th and runs through Oct. 15th I’d like to honor Latina artist, political activist, author and true unconventional nonconformist Frida Kahlo (July 6, 1907 – July 13, 1954). Frida is the epitome of intersectionality. Born of mixed heritage (father Hungarian/German – mother Spanish/Mestizo) she was best known for her series of 55 self-portraits, as she put it “I paint myself because I am so often alone and because I am the subject I know best” produced 200 paintings, numerous drawings and vibrant surrealist renderings heavily enveloped in symbolic representations of physical and psychological wounds rooted in the suffering of more than 30 surgeries. “I never painted dreams. I painted my own reality.”

Way ahead of her time Frida has been described as: “…one of history’s grand divas…a tequila-slamming, dirty joke-telling smoker, bi-sexual that hobbled about her bohemian…

View original post 32 more words

2 thoughts on “Frida Kahlo

Leave a Reply

