Collegiality

the dancing professor

I learned earlier that a grad school colleague of mine got a tenure-track job this year at a fairly well-known public university in the south. I’m glad for her. I wouldn’t consider her a friend, necessarily, but we graduated together, and have suffered four years of a shit job market together. She’s spent the last four years at three different visiting positions in two different states.

(You can see why I have made some of my choices as I did.)

I went to her facebook page (I keep her blocked) (I keep a lot of people blocked… I don’t want people I actually want to keep up with pushed out by professional contacts I don’t like all that much but who post shit all the fucking time) and sure enough, she had a nice post about it, along with a picture of her with a bottle of champagne that she…

View original post 1,049 more words

Leave a Reply

