A Day In the Life – The shifting winds

Shirley's Heaven

My mom before she and my dad were married My mom before she and my dad were married

I find myself having an emotional response as I recall some of the memories of my childhood. Although it is sad to think about the impact of my mom’s illness (paranoid schizophrenia) on her and our family, I feel it is an important story to tell. If things had been different during those days, perhaps it would have been easier for her to get the help she needed and our family to get the support we needed. Instead, we lived in bewilderment and fear, not knowing what to do or what was going to happen.

Because I feel it is so important to be a mental health advocate, I want to write at least 2 posts a week in my “Day in the Life” series as a way to address misconceptions and increase the understanding of mental illness as a serious health problem. 

View original post 297 more words

Leave a Reply

