Painting: abstract apollo butterfly

From Bluerock

I’m “upcycling” old, unfinished watercolour paintings by using the beautiful D’Arches paper as underpaintings for my current acrylic & mixed media work.

IMG_0151

To begin, I coated some of the old painting with white gesso, then I used it as a place to lay excess paint while working on another piece (you can see the other piece propped up in the background). This gave me some strong shapes to work from…

IMG_0171

I drew large free-form arcs in pencil, then began to define more shapes.

IMG_0183

In this series I’m working on a few different pieces at a time, as I explore juxtaposing colour bars to depict moving colour.

IMG_0185

IMG_0190

I created textures by scraping some of the wet paint with the end of a large nail.

IMG_0176

I added some opaque colours: a warm off-white (“titan buff”), a black-ish purple that I mixed, Naples yellow and Stainless Steel (these are all Golden brand acrylic…

View original post 135 more words

Leave a Reply

